Rabu, 10 Jun 2009

OCM Weekly Highlights - 7th jun 2009

OCM Weekly Highlights 
7th June 2009

OCM Official Website:

Coming Events

5th Asian Junior Wushu Championship 2009 – 5th to 10th June 2009 at Macau.
9th Junior Men’s Hockey World Cup 2009 – 7th to 21st June 2009, Johor Bharu and Singapore. 
9th Milo-Malaysia Youth (Under 14) Volleyball Championship 2009 – 8th to 12th June 2009, organized by the Majlis Bandaran Shah Alam (MBSA) Recreational Club, Shah Alam, at the MBSA Indoor Stadiums at Section 19 for boys and Section 4 for girls. 
1st Mini Olympics Malaysia 2009 – 29th July to 9th August 2009. 
7th Asian Netball Championship 2009 – 19th to 28th June 2009 at National Netball Stadium, Bukit Kiara, Kuala Lumpur. 
Yonex-Sunrise Malaysia Open Grand Prix Gold 2009 – 23rd to 28th June 2009 at Johor Bharu Malaysia. 1st Asian Youth Games 2009 – 29th June to 7th July 2009, Singapore. 
OCA Sports Committee Meeting 2009 – 29th June 2009, Singapore
28th OCA General Assembly 2009 – 1st July 2009, Singapore. 
2009 McDonald’s Olympic Day Run – 12th July 2009 at Dataran Merdeka, Kuala Lumpur, from 7.30 a.m. 
153rd OCM Council Meeting – 25th July 2009 at the Conference Room, Ground Floor, Wisma OCM, from 9.30 a.m. 
9th OCM Annual Events Seminar 2009 – 25th July 2009 at the Conference Room, Ground Floor, Wisma OCM, from 11.00 a.m. 
The World Women Tenpin Bowling Championship 2009 – 26th July to 3rd August 2009 at Las Vegas, USA.
1st Asian Martial Arts Games 2009 – 1st to 9th August 2009, Bangkok, Thailand. 

News Items

SPB Yang DiPertuan Agong’s Birthday Awards

The OCM wishes to congratulate the following individuals for being conferred awards in recognition for their services towards sports in Malaysia His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong XIII, Al-Wathiqu Billah Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin Ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Mahmud Al-Muktafi Billah Shah, on the occasion of His Majesty’s Birthday on 6th June 2009. 
• Y.Bhg. Tan Sri Ong Ka Ting, former President of the Malaysia Volleyball Association (1998 to 2002) on being conferred the Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN), which carries the title ‘Tan Sri’.
• Y.Bhg. Datuk Abdul Ghani Minhat, ‘Raja Bola’ of Malaysia and former star National Football player, on being conferred the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN), which carries the title ‘Datuk’.
• Y.Bhg. Dato’ Lee Chong Wai, Beijing 2008 Olympic Games Badminton Singles Silver Medalist, on being conferred the Darjah Bakti (DB).

28th OCM Annual General Assembly 2009 

After a few weeks of high excitement and tension for some, the elections of OCM Office Bearers are over and life has settled down to a less hectic level. The OCM elections highlighted the following:

• The spirit of 1Malaysia is very much alive in sport as the office bearers were elected based on merits and track-records of the candidates, in the true spirit of the Olympic Movement where sport is practiced regardless of one’s race, religion, politics, gender, etc.
• The election process, conducted by the 3-persons Independent Panel, was very transparent, democratic and efficient.
Unfortunately, the lead up to the elections was not at all sporting, as a small group of disgruntled sports people, who do not represent any sports organisation and who choice to remain anonymous, took the opportunity to bad-mouth, lied, slander and made disparaging remarks against a few incumbent office bearers under the guise of calling for change. They did not propose any change but went on a personal vendetta and rampage to discredit and humiliate a few incumbent office bearers. 

Fortunately, good sense and truth prevailed and all the incumbent office bearers, plus, former Vice President of OCM, Y.Bhg. Dato’ A. Sani Karim were returned to office for another two years.

The fact that the incumbent office bearers and Y.Bhg. Dato’ A. Sani Karim were returned, was based on their good track records, honesty, integrity and dedication. On the other hand, the candidates who challenged the incumbents, were incompatible to their call for change, as almost all the candidates who challenged the incumbents have served and held high and senior positions in sports organizations, but have failed to contribute any or minimum benefts to sports development or the organizations they served. 

The Office Bearers, elected for the session 2009/2011, at the 28th OCM Annual General Assembly held on 30th May 2009, are:-

President – YAM Tunku Tan Sri Imran ibni Almarhum Tuanku Ja’afar 
Deputy President – Y.Bhg. Datuk Dr. M. Jegathesan 
Vice Presidents – Y.Bhg. Prof. Dato’ Arch. W. Y. Chin 
Cik Low Beng Choo
Y.Bhg. Prof. Dato’ Dr. Zakaria Ahmad 
Y.Bhg. Dato’ Roy Rajasingham
Y.Bhg. Dato’ A. Sani Karim
Hon. Secretary – Dato’ Sieh Kok Chi 
Hon. Treasurer – Y.Bhg. Dato’ Seri Kee Yong Wee 
Hon. Asst. Treasurer – Encik Rosmanizam Abdullah 
Hon. Asst. Secretary – Cik Moira Tan Siew See 
Hon. Asst. Secretary – Encik Ramlay Ibrahim 

HSBC Asian Five Nations Rugby Championship (A5N) 

Congratulations to the Malaysian National Rugby Team for winning the HSBC Asian Fice Nations Rugby Championship (Division 2), by beating China by a score of 43 points to 15 points. With this win, Malaysia is promoted to Division 1. China finished second, with India third and Pakistan fourth.

2009 McDonald’s Olympic Day Run 

A Media launch was held on 27th May 2009 at the OCM Museum and Hall of Fame to announce details of the 2009 McDonald’s Olympic Day Run to be held on 12th July 2009 at Dataran Merdeka, Kuala Lumpur, from 7.30 a.m. 
The Olympic Day Run is open to 5,000 participants from 10 categories and these are:-

• Men’s and Women’s Open 18 years old and above – 7Km
• Men’s and Women’s Veteran 40 years old and above – 7km
• Men’s and Women’s Junior 13 – 17 years old – 7km
• Primary School Boys and School Girls 10 – 12 years old – 3km
• Primary School Boys and School Girls 7 – 9 years old – 3Km

The registration fee charge for adult is RM10.00 and school children without getting their school stamp. For school children who has obtained their school permission to enter the run will be charged RM5.00.

The registration form are available at Federal Territory Athletic Amateur Association Office, Olympic Council of Malaysia office and website and Mcdonalds outlets in Kuala Lumpur and Selangor and website at



Adult (Veteran & Open Category)
• 1st Winner RM 1,000.00
• 2nd Winner RM 700.00
• 3rd Winner RM 500.00 
• 4th Winner RM 150.00
• 5th Winner RM 100.00

Children (Junior, Primary & Lower Primary Category)
• 1st Winner RM 500.00
• 2nd Winner RM 250.00
• 3rd Winner RM 150.00
• 4th Winner RM 50.00 
• 5th Winner RM 50.00 

IN KIND – For all categories
• McDonald’s premium items
• Hotel vouchers
• Shopping vouchers
• Dining vouchers
• Other sponsored items

Sports Medicine Talk entitled “Dance and Rhythmic Gymnastics: Injuries Revisited”,

Dr Aston Ngai Seng Huey, former medical officer of ISN, is hosting a talk entitled “Dance and Rhythmic Gymnastics: Injuries Revisited”, on 17th June 2009, from 2.00pm to 5.00pm at Dr Aston Sports Clinic, No.6, Jalan SS2/3, 47300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan. The registration fee is RN30/= per participant, but no fee is charged for National athletes. The closing date for registration is 13th June 2009. For more details please contact Dr. Aston Ngai at e-mail: , websites:

Sports Calendar 2010

The Astro Arena TV Sports Channel is proposed to be launched sometime towards the end of 2009. In order to ensure the success of Astro Arena, all National Sports Associations are requested to submit their 2010 Calendar of their sports competitions and championships to OCM by 15th July 2009. The Sports Calendar and its importance to Astro Arena, will be discussed at the 9th OCM Annual Events Seminar to be held on 25th July 2009 at Wisma OCM.

0 Komen Anda: